Don’t Give Up

 

c6e412e003079202803a0c4d61e2b0e9_-attention-deficit-disorder-attention-deficit-disorder_600-422
Source: CA fest

 

 

ADD, also known as Attention Deficit Disorder, is a disorder that I have struggled with all my life, and some may think they have ADD because they get distracted while trying to complete a task, but the matter of the fact is that most people are bored when doing work and they let themselves get distracted easily. ADD is an actual disorder and it is very hard to maintain without medication. This disorder also affects everything I do in my life such as maintain a routine, complete important tasks (even if they are the easiest tasks). When I was diagnosed with ADD I was also diagnosed with ADHD and anxiety. Now we all have anxiety, but I would get these bursts of anxiety when I felt the slightest bit of nerves and I would break out into an uncontrollable anxiety attack. I was on medication for a few years up until I started taking a new medication for ADD which triggered anxiety attacks. With this being said, I stopped taking medications when I was a sophomore in high school because I wanted to live naturally with no chemical medications. This was tough because I did not have a clue what I was doing, but I knew chemicals were not good for my body.

temporary-depression-triggers-pg-04-full
Source: everydayHEALTH

With this being said, I stopped taking medications when I was a sophomore in high school because I wanted to live naturally with no chemical medications. This was tough because I did not have a clue what I was doing, but I knew chemicals were not good for my body.

 

This started my journey to “wellness” and I have tried to maintain it for the last 5-6 years. This was a very difficult journey overall and some days are still harder than others, but I always remind myself to never give up, no matter what.

As humans it is easier to drop everything and give up and “start from scratch” however… what do we learn from that? What will we accomplish by giving up? The answer is nothing. If we push ourselves to new levels and concur our difficulties through life, it will make up stronger individuals, and we will have a sense of accomplishment as well as pride. This is essential to our health because we will not feel beaten and broken down to the point where we want to give up all the time and not face challenges (this can also lead to temporary depression).

Here are my tricks to battle ADD/ADHD and anxiety without harmful chemicals:

1. Make a ToDo list

todo-list-645x570.png
Source: Brit+Co
  • It’s more helpful to see what tasks need to be completed and it is more rewarding when you can cross them off when completed

2.  “Focus Music”

  • I find it helpful to listen to music that uses Alpha waves to help me get through homework quicker so I don’t get distracted so easily.  (Focus concentration music)

3. Stay away from bed and television

  • Over time, I learned it was more beneficial to stay away from television and my bed and never ever try to do homework while laying down!

4. Try fidget toys!

il_fullxfull.1200431281_2j1f.jpg
Source: Etsy
  • I recently purchased a fidget spinner becauseI am always moving and always playing with something while trying to complete tasks. Now, when I try to get distracted or want to play with something I just get my fidget spinner and continue working.

5. Reward system

  • I know it sounds cheesy, but I learned that creating a reward system really helps if you stick to it. For every task or every set of tasks try to set a reward for completion and you will too see that it has great results!

Go ahead and give these 4 easy tricks a try if you struggle with ADD/ADHD!

(While constructing this post I was sitting in a noisy room so I put my noise canceling Beats on and listened to concentration music, while playing with my fidget spinner and drinking a carrot and orange smoothie!)

 

For more information on how you can benefit yourself (mind body and soul) check out myFacebook Page, Twitter and of course, more blog posts to come!

 

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑